Hiking the Eagle Peak trail at Mount Rainier National Park

Note: be sure to watch the video below too! I filmed it during this hike.

On Saturday I hiked the Eagle Peak trail at Mount Rainier National Park for the first time. The hike was difficult due to my lack of energy.

Hiking without any energy:

It was my first time hiking in nearly two weeks, and I had been anticipating the trails for that whole time. It seemed that we had given up hiking for swimming at Alder Lake the week before.

However, I made the decision to hang out with my friend Kimi the night before hiking after coming home from Alder Lake. We ended up driving to Mount Rainier to do the touristy things I usually avoid: Christine Falls, Narada Falls, and Paradise. We didn’t return until just part 8 p.m., and I knew that I would have to wake up at 4 a.m. for hiking.

My camera batteries died at Rainier, so I downloaded the photos and video I shot Friday night and started charging my equipment for the hike. This didn’t put me to bed until nearly 11 p.m.

Sleep didn’t come. I tossed and turned, and when I finally fell into a deep slumber, my cat insisted that I wake up. I managed to get somewhere between 2 and 3 hours of sleep before getting ready for the Eagle Peak hike.

Exhausted, when I arrived at the park with my brothers and my dad, we all wanted something short and easy. We chose Eagle Peak because Brandon liked the trail and it was only 3.6 miles to the top. What I didn’t expect was the nearly 3000 feet in elevation gain.

The hike tired me out even more, but the incredible views up top were well worth it.

Hiking the Trail:

Eagle Peak trail starts at Longmire at Mount Rainier National Park, across the Nisqually River from the parking lot. After walking past the government housing cabins and crossing the beautiful Nisqually Suspension Bridge, the trail head will be on your left in the trees.

The trail winds through the woods for a little while before gaining elevation. A few small creeks cross the trail. The trail eventually becomes switchbacks until you reach the meadows, which were covered in wildflowers. Many hikers think this is the end of the trail, but don’t let the way it looks deceive you!

From there, you encounter more steep switchbacks and stairs that take you to the end of the maintained trail at Eagle Peak’s saddle.

From the top, you can see 4 volcanoes: Mount Rainier, Mount St. Helens, Mount Adams, and Mount Hood. For experienced hikers, this is an easy Mount Rainier hike. For those not used to elevation increases or hiking, this might be a challenge, but the view is worth it!

It might be one of the best Mount Rainier hikes for wildflowers. Next time you go hiking at Mount Rainier, consider taking the Eagle Peak Saddle trail.

Last thoughts:

Thank for reading my second post on this blog. I’ll be trying to write daily or weekly posts about hiking, photography, and YouTube.

I hope to see you next time!

-Chase Charaba-

Instagram: @chasecharaba
Twitter: @chasecharaba
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/chasecharaba/
Leave a Reply

